Our practice began in Loveland in October 1981. Our original name was “The Sun is Rising Consciousness Center”, and later became Aikido of Loveland – Ft. Collins, Inc. The school was started by Dr. Kent Hinesley, who had recently moved to Loveland from California. Kent had been studying Aikido with David O’Neill of San Francisco. Kent began teaching Aikido in Loveland with the help of two of his friends, David Jones and Robert Patton who both had received their black belts from David O’Neill. At that time, Kent had not yet received his black belt.David O’Neill was the fountainhead of our school. His background included study and teaching in New York, Japan, Asia, Europe and many schools in the United States. David studied with O’Sensei in the last year of his life. He was a teacher at the New York Aikikai, founded the South Jersey Aikikai, and co-founded the San Francisco Aikikai, before opening ‘Aikido In’ in 1973. Before making Aikido his profession, he was a performer and director in the theatre, television, and film. He was also a faculty member at the Juilliard School of Music, the American Academy of Dramatic Arts, the American Mime Theatre, and the Circle in the Square Theatre School. We were originally affiliated with David O’Neill’s organization. Currently we are not affiliated with any Aikido organizations.Before we had the current dojo on Jefferson Avenue, we were located near the old railroad depot on 5th Street. For many years we had a practice in Fort Collins. This was lead by Mike Harter and others from our school, including Clyde Meeks, Kurt Yovanoff, Bob McCoy, and Kathy Crowe.In 2004 we re-organized the school to become a nonprofit Colorado corporation, called “Aikido of Northern Colorado, Inc.” We are recognized by the IRS as a 501(c)3 educational organization. As such, we do not discriminate against applicants and student on the basis of race, color, and national or ethnic origin. Donations to Aikido of Northern Colorado, Inc. are tax deductible.  The organization is managed by a board of five directors. The Board of Directors are: Philip Horvath, Jim Crowe, Elizabeth Kirby, Dave O’Farrell, and Bill.  The teaching staff is responsible for the curriculum and promotions. The chief instructor is Phil Horvath.